Lisa Barker

Lisa Barker is a stay at home mother who writes all her columns about her children and the problems she faces at home. In her columns she states everything as a fact so she thinks she’s right about what she writes about all the time. Having such a confident tone sometimes makes her sound biased. For example in her column The Hazards of Working At Home she states “Working at home will be the toughest job you’ll ever have, but quite possibly the one you’ll love the most precisely because of the kids” She is obviously biased because she works at home. The way she writes makes it seems like she doesn’t care whether or not people agree with her, she just writes the columns hoping that it helps other people with kids.

Do you agree with Lisa Barker? Do you think working at home would be the hardest job you will ever have? Why do you think she writes about her kids all the time instead of something else?

14 comments

  1. Kailey H.

    Lisa Barker can express her own opinion but I do not agree with her. Working at home would not be the hardest job you will ever have. Working from home may even be one of the easiest. You don’t have to leave your house and you don’t need to send your kids to day care if you work from home. I think she writes about her kids instead of something else because it’s something she loves writing about. She most likely loves her kids more than she loves anything else in the world.

  2. Nicole H.

    I do not agree with Lisa Barker. Working at home is a convenience, especially for mothers. My mom works at home and it makes things for her and my family a lot easier. She never had to hire a babysitter and she was always there when my brother and I needed rides somewhere. Also, working at home allows you to work at the hours you choose. This gives you the ability to fit other things besides work into your schedule. I think she writes about her kids all the time because she loves them and they are the most important thing to her.

  3. Courtney

    I don’t wholeheartedly agree with Lisa. I’m sure working at home isn’t exactly easy, however there are more difficult jobs in the world. I believe it’s pretty easy, especially because you get to work in the comfort of your own home, and you get to interact with your family more, rather than co-workers that you might not like or know very well.
    I’m sure she writes about her kids so often because she loves them, and she just simply enjoys writing about them, and as a mother they’re very important to her, and she wants to let the world know how great they are.

  4. Chris

    I don’t agree or disagree with Barker because I don’t know what it’s like to be a stay at home worker. But what I do know is that all jobs have their benefits and inconveniences and I’m sure she has plenty of both. I feel that she writes about her kids all the time because she has a passion for this particular topic and also feels as though a lot of people can relate to her.

  5. Shayleigh

    I disagree with Lisa Barker. I agree with Kailey. Being a stay at home home might be hard but getting a babysitter and not being able to see your kids probably is harder. Barker probably writes about her kids so much because she is always around them and kids are a very big part of your life.

  6. Joslyn

    I do not agree with Lisa Barker, and I do not think that working at home would be the hardest job. Working from home is probably one of the easiest actually because your schedule revolves around yourself and your children. It is much more convenient for you and your family if you work at home because that way you’re always home whenever you’re needed. She writes about her children more than anything else because her children are the most important things to her and she loves them very much.

  7. MGans

    I do not agree with Lisa Baker, yes staying home and watching the kids can get pretty hectic but you have all day to stay home and do the things most parents do in a couple hours such as vacuuming and dishes. You would have your own schedule and would be more free for everything wither it be having fun with friends or a simple run to the grocery store. I think she chooses writing about her kids because everyone can relate to certain situations and it will give the reader a lough if they can relate to it.

  8. Mr. Yed

    From a parent’s point of view, I can see how taking care of your own children can be the hardest job you’ll ever have. The bond between a child and a parent is, for a caring parent, the strongest bond you could possibly have. Taking care of children is also difficult because they require your full attention and affect you in more ways than most other jobs. I have an idea of how hard it can be to look after children close to you, as I occasionally take care of my nephews. It can be tough, especially if the child develops naughty habits that drive the parents insane. So yes, I can agree with Lisa Barker and say this is the hardest job a person can have, but it is the most rewarding at the same time. Lisa Barker most likely writes about her children as much as she does because she is truly devoted to raising them right, and wants all parents to do the same.

  9. DevanB

    I disagree with Lisa Barker in everyway. I think that working from home is anything but the hardest job you could have. Her saying that is proving that she is ignorant and extremely bias. The two main concerns adults have in the work world is being able to spend time with their children, and having flexible hours. When working from home you could be with your children, and make your own hours. The reason she writes about only her children is because that’s all she has to write about. They are probably the only concern or excitement she has in her life.

  10. AlexD

    Like the other commenters, I do not agree that being a stay-at-home mom is the hardest job you can have. Most likely she was not being entirely serious when she said that it was the hardest job, and was trying to get a point across that taking care of kids is not a walk in the park. It probably is the hardest job she has had, however. People tend to write about things they love. For Lisa Barker this is obviously her kids, so for her writing about them makes her happy. Lisa has a lot to say on the topic of raising children, so that is why she writes about them so often.

  11. Amelia

    I do not believe that working at home will be the hardest job that you will have. I always hear mothers talking about how they wish they didn’t work so much so they could spend more time with their kids during the day. So to me being a stay at home mother seems like the ultimate solution, but some may rather be working in an office. It depends on the person and the situation that they are in financially and things going on within the family. It seems to me that she writes about the kids all the time because that is something she can relate to and has the easiest time writing about.

  12. Matt B

    I do agree that working at home could be the hardest job. With all of the distractions one could have at home it would be tough. It could be tough to stay focused for some, but for others, working at home could be a very easy. I think she only writes about her kids because she enjoys writing about what she cares about and what she is passionate about, which in this case would be her kids. Also, she probably has a lot of things to write about, since she is with them all of the time.

  13. crroche

    I do agree that working at home could be the hardest job. When you are home there are more distractions and it might be hard to get things done. It would be hard to focus on work you have to do when you also have to entertain your kids. I also don’t find it strange that she writes about her kids all the time. Having kids must take a lot of your time. She probably doesn’t do a lot without her kids so she writes about them most.

  14. Hannah B

    Working at home could be very difficult because of all the distractions. I don’t think working at home would be the hardest job you would ever have, though. I know many parents that work from home, and they make it seem like it’s just another day in the office. I personally think that she writes about her kids because she doesn’t have anything else going on in her life. She doesn’t seem to have a life outside of her home.