Ann Coulter

Ann Coulter will speak her mind about anything.  Whatever the topic is, you will certainly know how she feels about it.  In her articles, Ann Coulter always sides one way, their is no in between.  She always attempts to back up her topic with as much detail as she can.  It seems like she does not care what feedback she will get about her articles, she writes about however she feels.  In one of Ann Coulter’s recent articles “Soccer: Part Deux” Ann Coulter just bashes the game of soccer, even though she knows a little about the game.  She says that Soccer has never been popular in America, and it never will be. Coulter says as long as football is around, soccer has no chance.  She says “No one wants to watch people run around for 62 miles a game”

Do you agree with Ann Coulter? Will soccer ever be popular in America? Has the World Cup helped the popularity of soccer?

13 comments

  1. Alex

    My columnist, Bill O’Reilly, seems to write just like Ann Coulter. O’Reilly does not shy away from controversy, and he speaks his mind about any topic that he feels strongly about. He does not think about who he may affend or what people might think of his column. He just states his opinion and uses facts to back it up, just like Coulter. I do not necessarily agree with Coulter in the fact that she bashes on the game of soccer when she does not know much about the game. I think that to make a valid point, on any topic, she must know the background of the topic and use that in the article. I also disagree because I think that soccer is becoming more popular in America. I think that the World Cup plays a huge role in the growing popularity of the game. It seems as if everyone in the US gets addicted to soccer while the World Cup is on. After each World Cup, I feel as if more and more people each time will stay with soccer and continue watching soccer, and I believe that it will become more popular in America.

  2. Nicole H.

    I don’t agree with Ann Coulter. Although I’m not a big soccer fan, it seems wrong that she is saying all these things about a sport that she knows little about. A lot of people in America do enjoy soccer, so it is possible that it could become popular. I also don’t agree with her when she says football is preventing soccer from becoming popular. Football fans can like soccer too. I think the World Cup has helped the popularity of soccer a lot. Many Americans get really excited for the World Cup and even people who don’t usually watch soccer find themselves watching the World Cup. Someday, soccer could be really popular in America.

  3. kktaylor1

    I don’t agree with Ann Coulter mainly because soccer is a sport that many people like to watch and play. Just because she doesn’t want to sit down and watch people run around doesn’t mean that others don’t. I also think it was wrong of her to bash the game if she knows almost nothing about it. I have played before and it’s actually a really fun sport to play. If she gave it a chance maybe she would understand why it’s appealing to so many people. When she says as long as football is around soccer has no chance, I agree with her. Football seems to be the most popular sport in America even though, personally, I think soccer is more interesting. I do think that the world cup has helped soccer’s popularity though. This is because people like to be caught up in what’s popular now so if the world cup is going on, people are going to watch it, even people who don’t usually watch sports on T.V.

  4. Kailey H.

    I am not a big fan of soccer, but I have to say that I do not agree with Ann Coulter. Soccer is very popular in America, although not as popular as in other countries. I do not agree that because football is around that soccer has no chance. Soccer is easily one of the most popular sports in the world. I also think the world cup has helped with the popularity of soccer because it gets a lot of people really into watching soccer.

  5. Amelia

    I also studied Ann Coulter, and read the “Soccer: Part Deux” and I disagree with everything that she wrote. In my opinion, you should know about the sport before you can bash it. Ann strongly states her opinions and I believe that she is wrong. Soccer will definitely get more popular in America and the I think the world cup helps to make people pay more attention. Coulter mentioned the world cup in Part Deux, so obviously she knows that it is popular. She just doesn’t want to agree because she strongly dislikes the sport. The world cup has positively helped the publicity of soccer and Ann is probably in the small amount of people who believe it will never be popular in america. People can be fans of multiple sports at one time and I don’t believe that football is preventing soccer from becoming more popular.

  6. Adrianna

    I don’t agree with your writer. By being biased without doing any research on the sport, Coulter comes off as uneducated and unwilling to consider the opinions of others. I believe that soccer is already popular in America, although not as big as other sports such as football. The MLS has a decent following and many Americans support teams from all across the world. I think that the World Cup does increase the popularity of soccer in America because it gives citizens the opportunity to feel pride in their country and root for them. If they are willing to watch the games to cheer for their country, then they may become new fans of the sport.

  7. Zach P

    I have also studied Ann Coulter. I read her column “America’s Favorite National Pastime: Hating Soccer.” I mostly disagree with her here. Soccer is a growing sport in America and it will continue to grow. The MLS has grown from a ten team league using mostly football stadiums to a league with nineteen teams, many of which have their own stadiums. Two more teams are set to join by 2017. With this expansion comes a growing fan base. Plus, the World Cup attracts more fans every four years. I agree that die hard Americans will always enjoy football more than soccer. Not much can change that. America is an ethnically diverse country, though. Many groups will always prefer soccer over football. As long as the World Cup continues to be played, and MLS continues to expand, there will be room for soccer to become more popular in America.

  8. JacobH

    I don’t agree with Ann at all. Granted, the US does not give their team such universal support as do countries like Brazil. This is presumably due partly to the fact that the US team doesn’t tend to win all that much, and partly due to our wide range of other, non-international sports leagues.
    However, Americans are famous for their support of other countries’ teams. We take great pleasure in reaching deep into the previously irrelevant depths of our family tree, just so we can say, “Ooh! I’m Italian! My great-uncle-twice-removed’s wife’s mother came from Italy!” as we cheer for Italy’s soccer team.

    Ann made the mistake of presuming that just because American Football is more popular than “futbol” around here, that “futbol” might as well not exist.

  9. Hannah B

    I don’t agree with Ann. Since she knows little about the topic she couldn’t have been able to back her opinions with real facts. I think that soccer has been popular in America, but not as popular as it is in other countries. The World Cup brings a sense of nationalism. People, fans or not, come together to support America in the fight to win. So, yes, I think the World Cup has helped with the popularity of soccer.

  10. Shayleigh

    I am a huge fan of soccer but even if I wasn’t I don’t think I would agree with Ann Coulter. She clearly did not do research on the topic. No one wants to watch people run around for 62 miles a game. That’s funny because soccer is the number one most popular sport in the world. She seems very biased about the subject. And what does football have to do with anything? People can like more than one sport. I do think that soccer could be popular in America. I also think that The World Cup helps makes soccer popular because people from all around America get together and watch games and cheer on their favorite country. USA or not people are still watching soccer games which makes the sport more popular.

  11. Cj

    I do not agree with Ann, i believe the game of soccer will gain huge support in the next few years. The world cup had a huge impact on the U.S. and the game is very likely to have a huge uprising. I agree with Alex when he says that Bill O’Reilly writes very similarly to Ann. They both pick a side and become impossible to convince otherwise. i personally don’t like this kind of writing, it is always helpful to see both sides to an argument.

  12. Celia

    No, I do not agree with Ann Coulter, I think soccer will become very popular in America and than its popularity is growing by the day. I can’t remember ever hearing hardly anything about World Cups in the past, but this year it seemed to be everywhere. I think people in America are beginning to gain an interest in the sport, and that its popularity in our country is growing. I think that this was definitely helped by the World Cup, but that this isn’t the only cause of its success. I mean, they wouldn’t have hyped the World Cup so much if they didn’t think that people in America would be interested in it. I think the rising interest in soccer in America may also be due to new immigrants coming in from countries where soccer is more popular and continuing to follow their old teams. Soccer fans are incredibly loyal, and soccer has a huge fanbase worldwide. I think it’s only a matter of time before soccer really takes hold here.

  13. Audrey

    Maybe soccer won’t ever be as popular in America as football is today, but it doesn’t necessarily depend on football. Soccer could become equally as popular in its own right alongside football if the interest is there. The World Cup helps grow the popularity of soccer because it shows Americans the most elite soccer the world has to offer. Coulter makes an unfair judgement saying “No one wants to watch people run around for 62 miles a game” because she over-simplifies the game and generalizes inaccurately.