Sherman Frederick

Sherman Frederick is a biased columnist who mostly does columns about the government. He is biased in the way that no matter what the situation is he is against whatever Barack Obama says or does. In one column he talks about when Obama released 5 Taliban leaders from Guantanamo Bay Prison for a soldier who Sherman believes deserted his post and probably got captured by the Taliban. He says that even though it is a U.S. soldier that these Taliban leaders are more dangerous and the U.S. soldier was believed to abandoned his post and his country.
What do you think? Do believe that Obama is a bad president? Do you believe the soldier abandoned his post or do you think he was captured while doing the right thing? Lastly would you have gone through with the exchange or not?

5 comments

  1. Serena

    I disagree with Sherman completely. I do not think that Obama is a bad president for doing this, as he really had no other option. It is his duty to protect an American citizen and trust that when the soldier took the oath to stay loyal to his country, he meant it. Whether the soldier abandoned his post or was out doing the right thing shouldn’t even be in consideration. If I was in that position I definitely would have gone through with the exchange. Yes, the 5 Taliban are dangerous to the U.S. but there is always going to be more of them.It is not worth it for us to waste our resources holding them when there is another American man in danger.

  2. Liam

    I believe that Obama is not a good president and this is because of all the changes he said he would make that haven’t been made. Taxes are raising and the middle class hasn’t gotten a break from his 5 point process of making the Commonwealth a better place to live. Pertaining towards the U.S soldier and the Taliban, I believe that the U.S troop did not go against his country because he would have no reason to since we are the number 1 army in the world, why would he want to leave that success. I also believe that releasing anyone associated with the Taliban shouldn’t have been released since they are a danger to our country and we are giving them another reason to do harm to us since we had captured them.

  3. Jackie

    I don’t feel that Obama has earned the right for me to say he is a good president. He has not been able to bring people to work together especially in Congress. Also, he has not demonstrated quality leadership on both foreign policy as well as domestic issues. I think that the guy abandoned his post. I would have not gone through the exchange, because it is the official U.S policy not to negotiate with terrorists.

  4. Keegan

    I don’t think that Obama is a bad president, however, I don’t believe he is a good president either. He hasn’t done anything horrible (like put us in a war without permission) but he hasn’t done many things well and hasn’t made the changes he said he would make. I am not the soldier so I don’t know what he actually did but from what I have read or heard it does seem that he was abandoning his post but it is only him that knows for sure. I would have gone through with the exchange but it is a very tough decision to make. I hope that they are tracking these men they released because it is dangerous to them be free.

  5. crroche

    In my opinion I don’t think Obama is a bad president at all. However, Sherman has the right to disagree with our president. We have to protect any American soldier. Even if the soldier left his post it doesn’t mean he should die for one mistake. Our country owes it to the soldier to try everything in their power to get him back unharmed. Therefore I would absolutely would make the exchange. Yes releasing 5 Taliban leaders is risky but the soldier volunteered his life for our country and he deserves a fighting chance.